The Agora receives journalism awards

Web Editor Vanessa Ray wins first place for best First Amendment Reporting

The Agora received 14 awards at the Michigan Community College Press Association awards banquet on April 8.

The MCCPA recognized the best journalism work at community colleges in the state on Michigan.

This year nine colleges competed for awards: Delta College, Lansing Community College, Grand Rapids Community College, Washtenaw Community College, Northwestern Michigan College, Schoolcraft College, Monroe County Community College, Muskegon Community College, and Henry Ford Community College.

The awards were presented at the annual MCCPA convention in Mount Pleasant, Michigan at Central Michigan University.

Although The Agora represented the smallest college paper that competed, it walked away with about one out of every six awards given.

Agora artist Leigh Cole won four awards for his cartoons and columns.

The awards won by The Agora staff include:

General Excellence (Division II): Agora staff, second place.

Overall Newspaper Design (Division II): Agora staff, first place.

Online Newspaper (Division II): Agora staff, first place.


First Amendment Reporting: Vanessa Ray, first place.

Multimedia Reporting (Division II): Agora staff, first place.

Feature Story: Joseph Abrams, third place.

Original Cartoon – Editorial (Division II): Leigh Cole, first place.

Original Cartoon – Editorial (Division II): Cheyenne Abel, second place.

Original Cartoon – Entertainment (Division II): Leigh Cole, second place.


Humor Column: Leigh Cole, third place.

Serious Column: Leigh Cole and Miranda Gardner, second place.

Blogs: Julia Toniolo, second place.

Headline Writing: Joseph Abrams, third place.

News Photo: Evan Kutz, honorable mention.