MCCC hosts 2017 Honors Reception



Miyuki Zerke, who won the Outstanding Student Award, poses after the reception with her awards. (Photo by Vanessa Ray)



Miyuki Zerke: Outstanding Student Award

Nicholas Prush: Outstanding Faculty Award

Robin West Smith: Outstanding Adjunct Award


Miyuki Zerke won the Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award at MCCC’s annual Honors Reception.

Nicholas Prush received the Outstanding Faculty Award, and Robin West Smith received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award.

MCCC hosted the Honors Reception at the La-Z-Boy Center’s Meyer Theater on April 12.

The event honored faculty, adjunct faculty, students, clubs, and organizations for their achievements during the 2016-17 academic year.

President Kojo Quartey opened the event with a warm welcome to students, faculty, and guests. Student Government members introduced the presenters.

Mark Hall, director of Admissions and Guidance Services, ended the evening with closing remarks. Guests enjoyed refreshments by Kosch Catering after the reception.

Randy Daniels, the Vice President of Student and Information Services, said each year the international honor’s society for two-year colleges Phi Theta Kappa selects an all-state academic team from among our nation’s community colleges.

“We are fortunate to have two nominees representing Monroe County Community College,” Daniels said.

The All-USA Academic Team Nominees were Ashley Klug and Jessica Ryder.  

They were formally recognized in Lansing at a banquet hosted by the Michigan Community College Association.  

The Outstanding Student Program of the Year Award went to the Student Nurses Association for the bake sale they organized in the fall semester.

The Writing Center director Lori Jo Couch honored the 29 Writing Fellows.

Kellyann Navarre won the George Rhodes Writing Fellow Award. The Writing Fellows vote for the recipient of this award each year.

The Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award went to Student Government president Grayson Bacarella, treasurer Javed Peracha, and Brian Friley.

Monroe County’s Big Gig and the Religious Counsel’s panel event won awards for the Outstanding Diversity Program of the Year.

Vice president of Instruction Grace Yackee recognized all the students on the dean’s list. For a complete list of the Fall 2016 recipients, see

Quartey presented the President’s Academic Achievement Awards. These awards go to students who have completed a minimum of 40 credit hours with a 4.0 grade point average and are currently enrolled this semester.

This year Clayton Blackwell, Justin Gruden, Kayla Hawley, Rachel Imes, Laurel Kinsey, Olivia Latray, Kellyann Navarre, Noah Stanford, and Miyuki Zerke received the awards.

The other awards presented at the reception include:

Outstanding CIS Student

Luke Bunge

Outstanding Accounting Student

Stacie Ralph

Business Management Scholars

Nicole Farrell, Nathan Grodi, Laurel Kinsey, Javed Peracha, Samantha Prater, and Carla Slamiar

Outstanding Administrative Professional

Jennifer Freeman

Outstanding Nursing Student Awards

Tyler Tomasik (Fall Cohort) and Misty Skeen (Winter Cohort)

Spirit of Nursing Awards

Sarah Beth Ferrier (Fall Cohort) and Kari Hasley (Winter Cohort)

Excellence in Practical Nursing Award

Markie LaPointe

Practical Nursing Student Peer Recognition Award

Elizabeth McNett

Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Student Award

Amanda Beste

Outstanding Certified Welder Awards

Dane Diesing, Kyle Knabusch, and Brandon Turner

Outstanding Student Mechanical Design Technology Awards

Jacob Swanson and Zach Swanson.

Excellence in Journalism

Leigh Cole, Miranda Gardner, Sawyer Jackson, and James Quick.

Outstanding Journalism Awards

Joseph Abrams, Vanessa Ray, and Leah Thomas

Outstanding Social Science Student Award

Kellyann Navarre

Outstanding Humanities Student Award

Leah Thomas

Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award

Tanner Irwin

Outstanding Organic Chemistry Award

Clayton Blackwell

Global Studies Degree Designation Award

Miranda Lyons