Public is invited to MCCC’s candidate forum

Front entrance of the La-Z-Boy Center

MCCC is scheduled to host two candidate forums this week in the Meyer Theater located in the La-Z-Boy Center.

The dates are Wednesday, Oct. 19, and Thursday Oct. 20.

The forum is set to start at 6 p.m. both nights, and is free and open to the public. 

There will be 11-12 candidates each night, including state and federal along with MCCC Board of Trustee candidates. They will be asked a list of questions, and the public will be able to ask a list of prescreened questions, Gerald McCarty, director of Student Success said. 

McCarty and Scott Behrens, vice president of Enrollment Management and Student Success, will be moderating the event.

The candidates will not be allowed to debate during the forum in any way McCarty said. 

The forums will be recorded by MPACT studios, Monroe’s local access cable channel. It will be posted on MCCC’s and MPACT’s youtube channels.

Schedule for Oct. 19:

Police Facility Addition Bond Proposal
Commander, JD Wall, Monroe Public Safety Department

State Senator 16th District (4 year term)

Katybeth Davis (DEM)

Joe Bellino, Jr. (REP)

State Representative 29th District (2 year term)

Alex Garza (DEM)

James DeSana (REP)

State Representative 31st District (2 year term)

Reggie Miller (DEM)

Dale Biniecki (REP)

1st District Court Judge, NonIncumbent (6 year term)

Christian Horkey

Steven M. Hyder

County Commissioner, District 8

Greg Moore, Jr., (REP)

Monroe County Community College (2 6 year terms)

Julie Edwards

Gary Kiebler

Schedule for Oct. 20:
Police Facility Addition Bond Proposal
Commander JD Wall, Monroe Public Safety Department

US Representative, District 5

Tim Walberg (REP)

Bart Goldberg (DEM)

State Representative 56th District (2 year term)

William T. Bruck (REP)

State Representative 28th District (2 year term)

Jamie Thompson (REP)

Rob Kull (DEM)

District #3

Dawn A. Asper (REP)

County Commissioner, District #6

Jerry Oley (DEM)

David P. Vensel (REP)

Monroe County Community College (2 6 year terms)

Bruce Diven

Candace Ferrell

Michael LaHote

Jason Matthews