Students, faculty win awards

Aleija Rodriguez and Lydia Sandefur won the outstanding student award.

Aleija Rodriguez and Lydia Sandefur won the Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award at MCCC’s annual Honors Reception.
Lisa Schaller received the Outstanding Faculty Award, and James Smith received the Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award.
MCCC hosted the 2019 Honors Reception at the La-Z-Boy Center’s Meyer Theatre on April 17.
The event honored students, faculty, adjunct faculty, clubs and organizations for their achievements during the 2018-2019 academic year.
Vice President of Student and Information Systems, Dr. Randell Daniels, delivered the opening statement for the event in place of President Kojo Quartey who was unable to attend the opening due to a hearing in Lansing with state legislators.

Rodriguez and Sandefur win student awards

Construction Management professor wins faculty award

Criminal Justice professor wins adjunct award

Daniels also delivered the closing statements for the event. Guests enjoyed refreshments by Kosch Catering after the reception.
Mark Bergmooser, who stood in for Lori Jo Couch, joked that he looks nothing like Couch before presenting the Outstanding Humanities Student Award to Kayla Hodges.
Jessica Marimpietri was named four times for various awards.
Schaller presented the Outstanding Construction Management Student Award to Michelee Rigdon who also won one of the Honors Conference and Student Showcase Awards.
President Quartey arrived in time to deliver the President’s Academic Achievement Awards.
For the third straight year MCCC has had two representatives for the All-USA Academic Team for Phi Theta Kappa, Kessie Drouillard and Maya Gaynier.
Dr. Ronald Campbell once again presented the Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award. The winners were Student Government President Samantha Beaudrie and secretary Allison Warner.
Vice president of Instruction Grace Yackee recognized all the students on the dean’s list. For a complete list of the Fall 2018 recipients, see

The other awards presented at the reception include:
Special Awards and Presentations
Outstanding Diversity Program of the Year Award: Paul Hedeen
Outstanding Social Science Student Award: Alexa Marchese
Outstanding CIS Student: Jessica Marimpietri
Outstanding Accounting Students: Marcello Johnson, Elizabeth Lapp, Phong Huu Le, Amy Matthes
Outstanding Administrative Professional: Emily Preadmore
Outstanding Agriculture Student Award: Corey Knabusch
All-USA Academic Team Nominees: Kessie Drouillard, Maya Gaynier
Outstanding Nursing Student Awards, Heather Galvan – May 2019 class, Danielle Anderson – December 2018 class
Spirit of Nursing Awards: Raven Webster – May 2019 class, Andrya Garcia – December 2018 class
Excellence in Practical Nursing Award: Paige Fowler
Practical Nursing Student Peer Recognition Award: Amanda Brockie, Michelle Miller
Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Student Award: Kathryn Gubbini
Honors Conference and Student Showcase Awards: Luke Grieser, Michelee Rigdon, Drew Grassley, Mariah Carroll, Brittany Hanner, Jessica Collins, Cassy Fallon, Melanie Klump
Outstanding Construction Management Student Award: Michelee Rigdon
Outstanding Welding Student Award: Tony J. Simko
Outstanding Electrical Student Award: Brett Ortolano
Outstanding Automotive Student Award: Shawna Daniels
Outstanding Mechanical Design Technology Student Award: Spencer Stevens
Outstanding Product and Process Design Technology Student Award: Jared Roach
Excellence in Journalism: Cheyanne Abel, Claire Bechard, Carla Cohen, Maya Gaynier, Jordan Jewell, Michael Nixon, Todd Salisbury, Lydia Sandefur, Rose Younglove
Outstanding Journalism Award: James P. Quick, Cassidy Maier
Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Award: Maribeth Mohn
Outstanding Organic Chemistry Award: Kathleen Conner
Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student Awards: Samantha Estill, Sheila Hall
Outstanding Mathematics Student Award: Jessica Marimpietri
President’s Academic Achievement Awards: Elizabeth Jordan, Brooke Lambrix, Elizabeth Lapp, Alexa Marchese, Jessica Marimpietri, Aleija Rodriguez, Gregory Rutkowski, Matt Vyse
Outstanding Humanities Student Award: Kayla Hodges
The George Rhodes Writing Fellow Award: Dawn Witmer
Faculty Association Outstanding Student Award:Aleija Rodriguez, Lydia Sandefur
Dr. Ronald Campbell Student Government Award: Samantha Beaudrie and Allison Warner
Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award: James Smith
Outstanding Faculty Award: Lisa Schaller
Outstanding Student Program of the Year Award: The Student Nurse Association