MCCC hosts forum for Monroe City Council candidates

The 2017 Monroe City Council Candidate Forum will give community members a chance to meet the candidates and learn some of their opinions on issues in the city.

The Agora will sponsor the forum, which is on Wednesday, Nov. 1 at 7 p.m. in the La-Z-Boy Center.

Vanessa Ray, the Agora editor, will moderate and another Agora staff members will keep time during the forum.

All six council seats, the mayor, and the clerk-treasure are on the Nov. 7 ballot.

Three incumbents will face to retain their seats on Monroe City Council, and two new candidates are running against each other for the fourth contested seat.  

In precinct 1, Paula Whitman will face off against Jeffery Hensley. Hensley previously sat on the council, but Whitman took the seat from him two years ago.

Kellie Vining is seeking to retain her seat. She faces Pat McElligott.

Gloria Rafko is running against challenger Brian Lamour.

Andrew Felder and Jacob McLaughlin compete for a seat in precinct 6, where William Sisk did not seek re-election.

Monroe mayor Robert Clark, clerk-treasurer Michelle LaVoy, councilman John Iacoaangeli, and councilwoman Michelle Germani are running unopposed.

Each candidate will give an introduction, answer questions, then end with a closing statement.

The questions will be chosen by the Agora staff.

The event is scheduled to end at 8:30 p.m.