Agora wins eight awards at Michigan Press contest

The Agora won eight awards in the Michigan Press Association competition.

The MPA competition honors the best work in journalism in the state. It includes several categories, ranging from large professional newspapers to small colleges. The Agora competed in the division for college newspapers that publish less than weekly.

The awards were presented Jan. 26 at the annual MPA convention in Grand Rapids. The Agora was a finalist for College Newspaper of the Year in its category. The award went to Grand Rapids Community College.

Evan Kutz, co-editor of The Agora for the 2015-2016 academic year, won three awards. 

Awards won by Agora staff members include:
Best Writer: Evan Kutz, second place.
Best Photographer: Julia Toniolo, second place, and Evan Kutz, honorable mention.
Investigative Reporting: Evan Kutz, third place.
Column, Review or Blog: Adam Rayes, third place.
Feature Photo: Julia Skrobowski, second place.
Front Page Design: Shelby Spencer, honorable mention.
Online Newspaper: Agora staff, second place.