Feldman, Mason voted as new Board members


President Kojo Quartey talks to newly elected board member Aaron Mason.

In a special Board of Trustees meeting Monday night, two new board members were chosen.

Seven candidates were interviewed to fill vacancies left by William J. Bacarella and William H. Braunlich. The candidates included David Heliman, Aaron Mason, Ronald Herr, Edward Feldman, Michael Brown, Catherine Calder, and John (Jack) Schwab.

During the interview process, the candidates were asked several questions including their position on the Whitman Center and where they see the college in five years.

Before making a decision James DeVries, secretary, commented on the seven candidates.

“I am so happy that so many qualified people decided to indicate an interest in our board,” DeVries said.

The remaining Board members first had to decide who would fill Will Bacerella’s position. A unanimous vote declared Edward Feldman as a new board member.

Feldman is a recently retired physician and was an adjunct professor. He taught Anatomy and Physiology at MCCC for two years.

The second seat belonged to William H. Braunlich. DeVries nominated Jack Schwab but the nomination was not seconded by any board member. Marjorie Kreps went on to nominate Aaron Mason. The board voted four to zero in favor of Aaron Mason in becoming a board of trustee member.

Mason is the Vice President of the Mortgage and Consumer Lending Group of Monroe Bank & Trust. His past experience includes being on the Monroe Public Schools Board of Education for over six years. All three of Mason’s children have attended MCCC.

After the meeting, Mason expressed his optimism for his new position.

“It’s a pretty big job and there are responsibilities that come with it and I am glad to join, ” he said.