Finalist withdraws from presidential race

The five presidential finalists have now been whittled down to four candidates.

Dr. Renay Scott, vice president and provost of Owens Community College in Toledo, has exited the line of finalists that had been selected by the search committee on April 30.

Scott had been scheduled to attend a board interview and a public forum on May 23, according to a press release by Joe Verkennes.

Public forums, where students and members of the community can meet the candidates, have been set in place for next week.

The four finalists remaining in the search for a new president are:

Dr. Carlee Drummer, executive director of college advancement and executive director of the educational foundation at Oakton Community College, Des Plaines and Skokie, Ill.


Dr. Karen Hays, vice president, academic and student affairs at Middlesex County College in Edison, N.J.


Dr. Kojo Quartey, provost and chief academic officer at the City Colleges of Chicago.


Suzanne Wetzel, vice president of administration and executive director of The Foundation at Monroe County Community College.