Board of Trustees highlights

Current board member Majorie Kreps and former MCCC professor James DeVries were sworn into office by Judge Weipert to the Board of Trustees. Kreps was re-elected Nov. 6, and DeVries won election for the first time.

The board decided to retain William Bacarella Jr. as chairman. Linda Lauer was named board secretary and William J. Braunlich was retained as vice chairman.

Faculty contracts were approved for Parnella Baul, assistant professor of Accounting and Felice Moorman, assistant professor of Early Childhood Development.

The board discussed upcoming negotiations with the Faculty Association in a closed-session.

The annual Miss Monroe County Pageant scholarship was increased from $500 to $1,000.

It was announced that the Great Pumpkin Pursuit raised more than $4,200. The money will be earmarked toward a scholarship in Marilyn Schroeder’s name.

Mark Hall, director of Admissions and Guidance Services, presented the winter enrollment report, which indicated a decrease in general enrollment but a record increase in dual-enrolled students. The number for dual-enrolled students is 411.

John Joy, dean of Corporate and Community Services, presented the non-credit enrollment report from Fall semester. A 25 percent decrease in enrollment was seen on main campus and 16 percent decrease at Whitman. However, contracted training was up 72 percent.

The board honored Cathy Spearing,  who retired as administrative assistant at the Whitman Center. Rachel Eagle will be her replacement.