Agora editor named student journalist of the year

Agora editor Marissa Beste won Student Journalist of the Year at the Michigan Community College Press Association's (MCCPA) annual competition.

"I'm so excited, I didn't expect to win the student journalist of the year award at all," Beste, said. I'm really proud of everyone. To win 18 awards when we are going against schools that are much bigger than us is really impressive."

The Agora staff won a total of 18 awards.

Beste walked away with five other awards in addition to Student Journalist of the Year.

Tyler Eagle, assistant editor this year and next year's Agora editor, took home two first place awards, including first place for a personality profile and first place for a feature story.

"it's good to know that I wrote a better story than the journalist at the bigger community colleges," Eagle, said. "I was nervous when I learned that MCCC moved to division one, but now I'm happy with the move because I got to beat the bigger community colleges."

Morgan Hofbauer received one first place award for headline writing and two other awards as well.

"I think it's really great, we all try really hard over here, I think it's paying off," Hofbaur, said.

"Our students competed against the best student journalists at community colleges across Michigan, including many colleges that are much larger than MCCC," said Dan Shaw, assistant professor of Journalism at MCCC.

Other attending colleges included Grand Rapids Community College, Henry Ford Community College, Schoolcraft College, Washtenaw Community College and others.

Overall, the Agora won a total of 18 awards.

"Monroe County has a right to be proud of Marissa and the other members of The Agora staff," Shaw said.

Full list of winners:

Marissa Beste

First Place, Student Journalist of the Year

First Place, Headline Writing (tie)

Second Place, Front Page Design

Second Place, In-Depth News Story (with Andrew Hoppert)

Third Place, Informational Graphic (with Andrew Hoppert)

Honorable Mention, Personality Profile

Tyler Eagle

First Place, Personality Profile

First Place, Feature Story

Third Place, Feature Photo

Morgan Hofbauer

First Place, Headline Writing (tie)

Third Place, ColumnCommentary Serious

Honorable Mention, Critical Review (with Danny Shaw)

Andrew Hoppert

Second Place, In-Depth News Story (with Marissa Beste)

Third Place, Informational Graphic (with Marissa Beste)

Dylan Gallagher

Third Place, Editorial Cartoon

The Agora Staff

Third Place, Overall Page Design

Jeff Papworth

Honorable Mention, Sports Column

Christina Clark

Honorable Mention, Feature Story

Chase Dowler

Honorable Mention, Sports Feature

Ashley LeTourneau

Honorable Mention, Best Use of Photos and Graphics